IAOS - OECD 2018 Conference Scientific Programme Committee

The IAOS and OECD are very pleased to welcome the IAOS-OECD 2018 Conference Scientific Programme Committee


Kees Zeelenberg                               Chief Methodologist, Statistics Netherlands (Chair)

Emanuele Baldacci                            Director of Methodology, IT and Corporate Statistical Services, Eurostat

Lisa Bersales                                     National Statistician of the Philippines

Cynthia Clark                                     Senior executive leader and manager of statistical programs in the U.S. and  the U.K. (Retired) USA

Jean-Pierre Cling                                Head of the Department of Statistical and International Coordination, INSEE, France

Gary Dunnet                                      Senior Manager of National Accounts, Statistics New Zealand

Philomen Harrison                              Project Director, Regional Statistics, Caribbean Community (CARICOM)  Secretariat

Ronald Jansen                                   Chief of the Trade Statistics Branch, United Nations Statistics Division  (UNSD)

Jean-Pierre Le Gléau                          French Statistical Society (SFdS), France

Yusuf Murangwa                                Director General, National Institute of Statistics of Rwanda

Enrique Ordaz                                    General Director on Research and Analysis National Institute of Statistics and Geography, Mexico

Peter Van De Ven                              Head of National Accounts , Statistics Directorate (STD), OECD

Sybille von Oppeln- Bronikowski      Director of Strategy and Planning, International Relations, and Research and Communications,

                                                        German Federal Statistical  Office

2017 IAOS Young Statistician Prize Results

2017  IAOS Young Statistician Prize Results


The IAOS is pleased to announce that the international Selection Committee has completed its review and rating of the papers submitted for the 2017 IAOS Prize for Young Statisticians. The Selection Committee was favorably impressed by the general quality of the papers submitted and judging them was a demanding process.


The IAOS would like to express gratitude to the Selection Committee members for their considerable contribution.


The results of the 2017 IAOS Prize for Young Statisticians are as follows:


First Prize: The Dissemination Game: How to communicate official statistics to non-expert users by: Hannah Thomas (United Kingdom)

Second Prize: Telematics Data for Official Statistics: An Experience with Big Data by: Nicholas Husek (Australia)

Third Prize: Improving Seasonal Adjustment by Accounting for Sample Error Correlation Using State Space Models by: Andreas Mayer (Australia)


The IAOS congratulates the winners and commends all the candidates for the effort that went into preparing their papers. 

Abstracts can be accessed by through the links above.


IAOS Executive 2017-2019

Following the successful elections for the IAOS Executive 2017-19, incoming President, Mario Palma is pleased to advise members that the full IAOS Executive for the 2017-19 period, will be:

Mr. Mario Palma, Mexico, President

Mr. John Pullinger, United Kingdom, President Elect

Ms. Hasnae Fdhil, Executive Member, Morocco

Ms. Gemma Van Halderen, Executive Member, Australia

Dr. Mohd Uzir Mahidin, Executive Member,  Malaysia 

Mr. Oliver Chinganya, Executive Member, Zambia

Ms. Nancy McBeth, Special Advisor to the President, New Zealand

Dr. Kisten West, Editor in Chief, SJIAOS, USA

Mr. Kees Zeelenberg, chair of Programme Committee IAOS-OECD 2018, Netherlands

Mr. Rolando Ocampo, representative to the ISI WSC , Mexico

Ms. Ada van Krimpen, ISI Director, ex-officio

In addition, SCORUS will nominate a representative.


The new Executive will take up their responsibilities after the 2017 General Assembly to be held in Marrakech, Morocco during the 2017 World Statistical Congress.  Members will be able to meet the incoming Executive at the General Assembly.


Ms. Ola Awad President, 2015 -17 and Mr. Mario Palma President 2017-19 would like to thank the IAOS nominations committee chaired by Ms. Irena Krizman, for their efforts

IAOS Officers 2017-2019

Dear IAOS member,


I have the pleasure of informing you about the outcome of the nominations process for the position of the IAOS President-Elect 2017-2019 (President 2019-2021) and IAOS EXCO members 2017-2019. 


For the position of President-Elect for 2017-2019 (President 2019-2021): 

Mr John Pullinger, National Statistician, Head of the Government Statistical Service (GSS) and Chief Executive of the UK Statistics Authority


For the position of the IAOS EXCO members for 2017-2019:

• Ms Hasnae Fdhil, Head of Communication and Cooperation Division, High Commission for Planning Morocco 

• Ms Gemma Van Halderen, General Manager, Partnership & Strategy Division, Australian Bureau of Statistics

• Dr Mohd Uzir Mahidin, the Chief Statistician of Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM) 

• Mr Oliver Chinganya, Director of the African Centre for Statistics at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) 


The number of candidates for an office does not exceed the number of vacancies. Therefore, in accordance with art. 7.6. of the IAOS Statutes, the candidates in question are declared elected without vote.

Consequently there are no votes requested from the IAOS members.


The term of the next EXCO will start at the IAOS General Assembly that will take place during the ISI WSC in Marrakech on 17-21 July. The current President Elect will become President and the new elected members will integrate the EXCO. 


For more information on the nominating process please download the 2016 IAOS Nominating Committee Report. 


With my best regards,